Make It Rain

This story comes from Jennifer Matson, one of our certified Imagination Yoga teachers.  Jennifer has been teaching Imagination Yoga since 2010 around the Walla Walla, WA  area.   Her story is the perfect example of the fun, and magical, environment that an Imagination Yoga teacher can create in their class.

Teaching Imagination Yoga to kids has become my weekly sanctuary over the last four years.  It is a time when I myself can sit down, breathe and simply focus on the present.  And yet every so often there is an experience that leaves me with a feeling of such unimaginable joy.  These are the magical moments that have left the most lasting impressions on my yoga career.

One such magical moment occurred during a class I taught at the local library.  I was surrounded by roughly forty preschoolers.  Each one was new to Imagination Yoga.  We began our adventure of Imagine Yoga in the Sky; we became spaceships, airplanes and hot air balloons.  We created a rainstorm as a group by rubbing our palms together, snapping our fingers and clapping our hands in unison.  Just as we completed creating our rainstorm, I became awe struck.  The back wall of the library is comprised of ceiling to floor picture windows.  As I looked out the windows, the sky opened up and it was pouring rain.  I told my class to turn around and take a look at what they had created in the sky.  Forty little feet raced to the back of the room and pressed their tiny noses to the windows to peer out.  The look on their faces was unforgettable; it still gives me goose bumps.  Mother Nature’s timing could not have been more perfect.

As I move through the hustle and bustle of my day to day life, it can be easy to lose sight of the little things that matter most; the accomplishments of one of my two children, the security of my family and home, or the opportunities that present themselves in one of my Imagination Yoga classes.  When I take the time to sit down and reflect upon all that my students have taught me, I remember how important it is to not forget to leap at the opportunities to gaze in wonder at the simple sight of the rain.

Thank you Jennifer, for sharing this sweet and inspiring story.  Jennifer is currently teaching Imagination Yoga through the parks and rec department in Walla Walla, Wa on Wednesday evenings.  You can contact her through our website www.imaginationyoga.com for more information

Imagination Yoga - Make It Rain

One thought on “Make It Rain

Leave a Reply

